Monthly Staff Recognition Award

This month’s winner, Suzanne Henderson, with President Jeffrey De Caen and supporters from USC Libraries.

Many USC staff employees exemplify dedicated and consistent service that genuinely enhances our quality of life at the university. To recognize these extraordinary people, the Staff Assembly and Staff Club jointly offer the monthly Staff Recognition Award.

Winners are recognized at Staff Assembly general meetings and receive a check and a framed certificate of appreciation signed by the university president and presidents of both Staff Assembly and Staff Club.

You may nominate any benefits-eligible staff member employed at least 50% who has not already received the award.

Award criteria

  • Demonstrable outstanding job performance
  • Dedication and willingness to assist in problem solving beyond job requirements (“going the extra mile”)
  • Positive attitude and generally cheerful disposition
  • Sharing of personal expertise to enhance university environment
  • Commitment to the USC Code of Ethics

To nominate a candidate for the award:

  1. Complete our fillable PDF nomination form
  2. Attach a letter detailing how candidate meets the award criteria
  3. Attach two additional letters of recommendation, one of which must come from USC staff or faculty
  4. Submit materials to

2018 award winners


Suzanne Henderson
Library Manager
USC Libraries





Helga Schwarz

Administrative Assistant II
Biological Sciences/Dornsife






Chandra Montgomery
Director, Grateful Patient Pipeline and Data Management for University Advancement
HSC and Hospitals




Se Chang
Programmer Analyst, Student Information Systems
Information Technology Services





Rosie Soltero
Program Specialist, Research Office
USC School of Pharmacy





Joe Wallenstein

Director of Physical Production
USC School of Cinematic Arts





Mike Jones
Technical Project Leader, Senior
Library IT, USC Libraries





Laura Yoneda
Associate Dean, Information And Technology
The Graduate School


2017 award winners



Julie Wright
Director of Development Communications
USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences


Marsha Chavarria-Winbush
Associate Director, General Education
USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences


Becky O’Neal
Operations Manager, Medicine – GIM-PAT Care
Keck School of Medicine of USC


Neil Teixeira
Director, Distance Learning
USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism


Sonia Savoulian
Associate Director, Programs in Real Estate
USC Sol Price School of Public Policy



Virginia Orcasitas
Admissions Coordinator, Biokinesiology & Physical Therapy
Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC


Maria Henke
Senior Associate Dean
USC Davis School of Gerontology


Jean Bowman
Senior Director of Development
USC Marshall School of Business


Victor Patino
Desktop Support Technician
Desktop Support Services, Keck Medicine of USC


Hemal Mehta
Seahorse Core Director & Research Lab Specialist
USC Davis School of Gerontology


Virginia Ross
Assistant Dean of Business Affairs
USC School of Dramatic Arts